Silk: worth the wait

I am lucky enough to have good friends that know me well. They know my personality, my disposition, and my complete and total fabric snobbery.

untitled-0812

I have been sewing for as long as I can remember. I use to sit at my Grandma’s machine and sew up all the scraps she had pulled from old garments. It was a machine that had the “pedal” to the right of the knee, not on the floor, thank goodness or I would have had to wait until I was 12 to start sewing!

For many, many years I use to find the least expensive fabrics possible to whip up into clothing. I just wanted to churn out clothes. The fabric I used, the fit or even the type of garment I made really wasn’t important.

A few years back I stumbled into the world of sewing blogs – I was fascinated by them. One of my favourite finds was the blog Sallieoh. I did the normal stalker thing and read through everything I could find on her blog and I came across this post. It completely spoke to me. And it completely changed how I looked at my hobby, my art.

All this to say, I am now firmly rooted in the fabric snob category and I want to love wearing the fabric that I wear.

So, back to my girlfriend; she was on a trip to LA and visited the garment district. She also has a love of fine fabrics (this would be the friend that came for a visit) and spoiled me with 2 cuts of silk and a generous cut of bamboo jersey.

20141102_170818

I have a RTW top that I love to wear and thought would be a fantastic shape to showcase the fabric. Since it was precious fabric, I didn’t want to jump straight to cutting into it. I decided that instead of spending the time pulling a pattern from my perfect fitting top, I would go the easier route and buy a pattern. I hunted around and finally landed on McCall’s 6927. So I grabbed some silk blend stash fabric (purchased at a great price) and got to work. It was a disaster. The head of the shoulder would.not.fit. I ended up taking most of it apart (french seams and all) and re-cutting the sleeve head down.

20141115_150258

Back together it went but it wasn’t quite perfect. Enter fabric number 2. Stash fabric, but again the fit was just off.

20141115_101447

Finally I decided that the best course of action was to pull a pattern from the RTW shirt I loved. Now by this point I was determined to get the fit exactly the way I wanted and was not going to cut into my silk until it was spot on. This time I went to my scrap bin and found some floral poly silky fabric and set to work. The fit was spot on.

IMG_20141220_104746

And then it was time, time to cut into the precious yardage and voila.

untitled-0816

untitled-0814

Let me tell you, I have nothing but bitty pieces of scraps left of this fabric.

untitled-0817

Have you ever had a vision of a garment in your head that you didn’t give up on? Did it turn out or did you end up with a wadder?

2 thoughts on “Silk: worth the wait

  1. Love this post. Especially the link to sallieoh’s post on champagne taste — I can SO see how this has influenced your thoughts on fabric and clothing production.

    While I (so clearly!) am no seamstress, I have taken many of your lessons on fit and fabric to heart – For starters, swearing off of stretchy pattered polyester! And ill fitting jeans! I think you have saved me thousands of dollars in clothes that I would have passed on after sitting in my closet for a few months.

    I’m really enjoying your blog, can’t wait to see more!

    (and can’t wait to see what that black silk turns into one day…)

    Like

    1. I also can’t wait to see what the gorgeous cut of black and gold silk turns into! As of now, it’s sitting in a place of honour in my stash waiting to tell me what it wants to be!

      As for fit and fabric – they certainly can make or break a garment. Both handmade and store bought. I can attest to the fact that you are spot on with your eagle eye for fine fabrics and fit!

      Glad to hear you’re enjoying the blog 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

